Some calculations for plane which would utilize two HKS 700 turbos

I was flying today (as a passanger) to Brussels and I wasn’t doing nothing, I had paper, pen and the HP calculator with me. And of course J.D. Anderson’s Aircraft performance & design as a reference.

So I ended up with some numbers, but I know already that they are a bit off – since I calculated AR the other way around and got with the K and e I used AR = 10 even if I had chosen that the AR = 14. Therefore the climb performance may be even quite pessimistic. Besides of that I was reading yet another aerodynamics book which stated that e is as high as 0.9 for clean airplane.

However, numbers are: Trimaran configuration, 2 x HKS 700 turbo, 2 places, fuel 200 liters, S = 99 ft^2, MTOW 1980 lbs (maybe 900 kg would still be within limits, haven’t checked), AR = 14. Slotted flaps and flapped ailerons. Taper 0.5. Low drag laminar airfoil and 60% laminar fuselage shape and the plane will be quite fast. RG is assumed, gear stored in the pusher prop engine pods.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
